Revealed! Nexa IIFA Awards 2016 Nominations

The 17th edition of the NEXA IIFA Awards is one of the most anticipated awards celebrations that annually honour the best of Indian Cinema with the highest level of achievement seen through the glamorous IIFA statuette.

It has been an incredible year in Indian Cinema with a number of unparalleled films that not only took the box office by storm but were also hailed as critical successes.

IIFA this year has truly recognised the full range of diverse characters and films that were released with the epic Bajirao Mastani being the forerunner with 8 nominations followed by the Salman Khan blockbuster Bajrangi Bhaijaan a close second with 7 nominations. A runaway success for its unique tale, the Shoojit Sircar directed film Piku follows with 6 nominations and the Farhan Akhtar starrer Dil Dhadakne Do picking up 5 nominations. Other films up for the awards include Badlapur – Don’t Miss the Beginning, Talvar and Tanu Weds Manu Returns.

Bajirao Mastani’s two leading actors – Priyanka Chopra and Tanvi Azmi – have both been nominated in the same category for their Performance in a Supporting Role – Female. The king of playback, Arijit Singh has been nominated twice in Playback Singer- Male for his musical contribution in Hamari Adhuri Kahani and Roy. The talented actor Nawazuddin Siddiqui has garnered three nominations – Performance in a Comic Role, Performance in a Negative Role and Performance in a Supporting Role – Male.

The Nominees for the Leading Role Male this year are Varun Dhawan (Badlapur – Don’t Miss the Beginning), Salman Khan (Bajrangi Bhaijaan), Amitabh Bachchan (Piku), Ranbir Kapoor (Tamasha) and Ranveer Singh (Bajirao Mastani).

The contenders for Leading Role Female feature Priyanka Chopra (Dil Dhadakne Do), Shraddha Kapoor (ABCD 2), Deepika Padukone (Piku and Bajirao Mastani) and Kangana Ranaut (Tanu Weds Manu Returns).

The nominations for Best Picture and Director include a host of names such as Kabir Khan (Bajrangi Bhaijaan), Shoojit Sircar (Piku), Meghna Gulzar (Talvar), Aanand L. Rai (Tanu Weds Manu Returns) and Sanjay Leela Bhansali (Bajirao Mastani)

The NEXA IIFA Awards 2016 will take place on June 23rd at IFEMA in Madrid and will be hosted by Shahid Kapoor and Farhan Akhtar (who has also been nominated for his Performance in a Supporting Role- Male for Dil Dhadakne Do).

With the perfect destination to host the gala celebrations, the International Indian Film Academy is all geared up to unfold and present a breathtaking amalgamation of two richly diverse countries and cultures. IIFA 2016 aims at bringing the magic of Indian Cinema to Spain and opening doors for Indian cinema across Europe and Latin America.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top